Wade and Gopperth up for Citizen Try of the Season

Six exceptional tries from some of the best finishers in world rugby are today revealed on the shortlist for this season’s Citizen Try of the Season award.

Jimmy Gopperth's try against Northampton Saints in round four and Christian Wade's score against Bath in round 11 have been nominated for the Citizen Try of the Season award.

Players from Bath Rugby, Wasps, Leicester Tigers, Gloucester Rugby and Sale Sharks are this year vying for the coveted title.
The full Citizen Try of the Season shortlist is:
·        Chris Cook – Bath Rugby v Northampton Saints  (Round 14)
·        Jimmy Gopperth – Wasps v Northampton Saints (Round 4)
·        JP Pietersen – Leicester Tigers v Bristol Rugby (Round 15)
·        Charlie Sharples – Gloucester Rugby v Harlequins (Round 17)
·        Denny Solomona – Sale Sharks v Northampton Saints  (Round 11)
·        Christian Wade – Wasps v Bath Rugby (Round 11)

Click here to watch the tries and many more!

These scores came in a stellar season for Aviva Premiership Rugby where there were 725 tries across the season, the most since the 1999-2000 campaign.
The shortlist was compiled by a panel of media professionals - Ben Coles (Planet Rugby), Jill Douglas (Freelance), Alastair Eykyn (BT Sport), Alex Lowe (The Times), Nick Purewal (Press Association), Jonny Fordham (The Sun), Sarah Mockford (Rugby World), and Nick Mullins (BT Sport). They were joined by Paul Morgan (Premiership Rugby's Communications Director) who chaired the panel.

The winner will rub shoulders with the biggest names in English rugby at a glittering ceremony at the London Lancaster Hotel Lane presented by BT Sport's Craig Doyle on Wednesday 17 May.

Along with the winner of the Citizen Try of the Season, the winners of the following awards will also be announced:

•    Aviva Premiership Rugby Player of the Season
•    Aviva Community Player of the Season
•    BT Sport Dream Team
•    Gilbert Golden Boot
•    Land Rover Discovery of the Season
•    Ricoh Director of Rugby of the Season
•    Singha Premiership Rugby 7s Player of the Series
•    Trivento Top Try Scorer of the Season
•    Women's Premiership Players’ Player of the Year

* The winners will be announced first on Twitter via the @premrugby account. Use hashtag #AvivaPremAwards to join the conversation.