Wasps unable to convert Daly double into Welford Road win

Despite two first half tries from Elliot Daly, Wasps slipped to an agonising 16-15 away defeat at the hands of Leicester.

16 - 15
Leicester Tigers Wasps

Sun 25th March 2018
3:00 pm

Welford Road Stadium Aviva Premiership As it happened

The hosts responded through Sione Kalamafoni, but it was George Ford’s third penalty, two minutes from time, that ultimately clinched the spoils.
Wasps dominated long spells of the first hour, but failed to convert enough of the opportunities created into points which allowed the Tigers to stay in contention despite playing 20 minutes with 14 men.
The losing bonus point takes Dai Young's team into third place in the Aviva Premiership, a point ahead of Newcastle, and two behind second-placed Saracens.
Leicester took an early lead when Wasps failed to clear their lines from the kickoff and were penalized in their own 22.
A penalty to the corner set up a driving lineout from which Kalamafoni went over for a try which Ford converted from near the left touchline.
Ford then missed a 38-metre penalty, and after Tevisa Veainu split the visitors’ defence Sam Harrison was only denied a try by Dan Robson’s outstanding covering tackle. Leicester lost Manu Tuilagi and Jonny May to injury in quick succession, after which Wade’s mazy 40-metre run was stopped just short then the supporting Thomas Young was unable to ground the ball.
However, a Wasps try did soon arrive when powerful scrum sent the home pack into reverse and Dan Robson’s quick pass sent Daly to the corner.

The Tigers were then reduced to 14 men when May’s replacement Nick Malouf was shown a yellow card for a high tackle on Wade, and Jimmy Gopperth gave the visitors the lead with the ensuing penalty.
Dai Young’s team were now in full flow, and when Juan de Jongh found space in midfield he found his support which sent Daly over for his second try, converted by Danny Cipriani’s magnificent kick.
This gave the visitors an eight-point advantage which they nearly increased following Cipriani’s break which was continued by Willie Le Roux who chipped over the defence and regathered only for Robson to be unable to hang on to the scoring pass.
Wasps again went close when Robson broke from the base and fed Wade who chipped ahead only for Ford to beat him to the touch down.
As Leicester threatened Robson intercepted a few metres outside his 22 and seemed certain to score, only for Mathew Tait to pull off a superb try-saving tackle, in the left corner.
Having already lost James Gaskell to an ankle injury, Wasps then saw finger victim Daly depart with Kearnan Myall and Josh Bassett taking their place.

Two minutes into the second half, De Jongh again split the defence and fed Le Roux. The fullback seemed odds-on to score but was denied by Matt Toomua’s ankle-tap, a few metres short.
Obstruction at the breakdown then gave the home side the chance to clear and they quickly won another penalty, 38 metres out. Ford made no mistake, to narrow the lead to 15-10.
Leicester then threatened, before Jake Cooper-Woolley stormed out of defence and offloaded to Cipriani. The flyhalf’s pass was deliberately knocked on by Veainu and the full back was shown a yellow card.
Wasps continued to look fluent in possession and they created another great chance when Wade sent De Jongh towards the corner but he was stopped by Kalamafoni’s covering tackle a few metres out.
It was then the Tigers' turn to miss an opportunity when Ford’s long pass to Thompstone was intercepted by Bassett, five metres from the visitors' line.
However, the home side then took a scrum against the head just inside Wasps' 22 which led to a penalty in front of the posts which allowed Ford to narrow the gap to two points with ten minutes left.
And five minutes from time a lineout penalty on the 22 allowed the home No.10 to put his side ahead for the first time in over an hour and in the process claim their first win over the black-and-golds in six attempts.

Leicester Tigers Line ups

  1. Greg Bateman
  2. Tom Youngs
  3. Dan Cole
  4. Michael Fitzgerald
  5. Graham Kitchener
  6. Velentino Mapapalangi
  7. Luke Hamilton
  8. Sione Kalamafoni
  9. Sam Harrison
  10. George Ford
  11. Jonny May
  12. Matt Toomua
  13. Manu Tuilagi
  14. Adam Thompstone
  15. Telusa Veainu
  16. Tatafu Polota-Nau
  17. Ellis Genge
  18. Logovi'i Mulipola
  19. Harry Wells
  20. Will Evans
  21. Harry Simmons
  22. Mathew Tait
  23. Nick Malouf

Wasps Line ups

  1. Simon McIntyre
  2. Tom Cruse
  3. Jake Cooper-Woolley
  4. Joe Launchbury
  5. James Gaskell
  6. James Haskell
  7. Thomas Young
  8. Guy Thompson
  9. Dan Robson
  10. Danny Cipriani
  11. Elliot Daly
  12. Jimmy Gopperth
  13. Juan de Jongh
  14. Christian Wade
  15. Willie Le Roux
  16. Antonio Harris
  17. Matt Mullan
  18. Martin Moore
  19. Will Rowlands
  20. Kearnan Myall
  21. Jack Willis
  22. Joe Simpson
  23. Josh Bassett